Testimonies from past to present

Saturday,

March 22, 2014

Dear Family,

Today was great.  Mom’s Primary sharing time was on the Resurrection.  As she worked on putting together what she had in her mind, I kept reminding her we are in South Africa, we can’t get everything she might need, but I’m not sure she heard me.  She wanted to create a Time Machine, and invite a few people from both the past and present to share their personal experiences and testimony about the Resurrection.

4WVYqibK0MhB3WEJ2qBwdi_SafjxmAGM05kG2hxh48EYou can see for yourself, the door to the past was designed with lights, and all the necessary controls to make going back in time a reality.

She had our Branch Clerk, Kats, make a CD with all the proper sound effects of time travel.

The first to share was Mary Magdalene. “It was a Sunday, and I came to the tomb of Jesus early.  I felt such sorrow and sadness.  I looked into the sepulchre and saw two angels and they said to me, “Woman, why weepest thou?”  I answered, “Because they have taken away my Lord, and I know not where they have laid him”.  (John 20:13) And when I said these words I turned around and saw Jesus standing, but I didn’t know it was him.  Jesus said to me, “Woman, why weepest thou? Whom do you seek?”

I thought he was the gardener and I pleaded with him for the body of Jesus.  Just then, Jesus called my name.  I knew it was Him, my Master.  Oh such joy I felt.

Thomas the apostle was next.  “I know that Jesus Christ was resurrected!  Well, not at first… let me explain.  The same day that Mary Magdalene came and told the disciples that she had seen Jesus, Christ the Lord actually appeared to the disciples.

When I arrived, the disciples told me they saw Jesus.  I said to them, “Except I shall see in his hands the print of nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and thrust my hands into his side, I will NOT believe.” (John 20:24-25) I felt doubt.  Eight days later, Jesus did come to me.  He said to me, “Reach hither thy finger, and behold my hands; and reach hither thy hand, and thrust it into my side: and be not faithless, but believing.” I believed!!!!  “My Lord, and my God”, I felt my faith grow and was happy.

Next was one of the Nephites that witnessed the Saviors appearance to the New World.   “For three days thick darkness covered the land of the Nephites.  There was not a glimmer of sunlight or a twinkle of starlight.  Not even a candle would light.” I was frightened listening to the thunder and terrible storms and felt earthquakes shake the ground.  Suddenly a voice was heard throughout all the land: “Behold, I am Jesus Christ the Son of God. Jesus let me and every other person there touch His hands and feet to feel the places where He had been nailed to the cross.  We all saw and felt for ourselves, we knew He was the resurrected Savior.

The Prophet Joseph Smith then shared his powerful testimony about the Savior. “I saw a pillar of light exactly over my head, above the brightness of the sun, which descended gradually until it fell upon me…. When the light rested upon me I saw two Personages, whose brightness and glory deft all description, standing above me in the air one of them spake unto me, calling me by name and said, pointing to the other This is My Beloved Son. Hear Him”

Then last of all came Gwen Molepo, a member of our Group.  She talked about her desire to be with her husband, who died about 7 years ago.  She shared her gratitude for the Resurrection and our Father in Heaven’s Plan would make being together with her husband a possibility.  The kid’s eyes were huge. The testimonies of the 5 visitors were powerful.

SFp0ry6dwaHevRf89UgDnPSIacyDX6SKbVP7SgoufKo yWRvddQ-48Bl3URPChJ5pCjJbWrUjWzr3mhBaOF3a20 Tc9bbdoAOks7z3w5tyfDbHc0xTd0rXYL75GJ5IzDqcU 20oNQVvtL0GEDnW3k7DRJJTuNexhmgXVEYDnfa9_JH8 9Jd2DNumGUW0iYPSwyxNoptkAaIDhtTq6JGinNfVvbQ

 After church, Mom and I drove up to Tzaneen to do three interviews so that they could go with the branch to the Temple this weekend.  After the interviews, we had dinner with 3 other missionary couples and had a nice visit.

fdHHE35G3fmMvTLB3D8MDd68MdMcBTiGQeJHaeAXDE0 n3vgF2A0ooYlrMnhoE_ND4lkVL1UccaZ-colRLHyxKM ox9mdcN-BCOz_Ik95kSx1_ZhCX3Y-TadtXoIMD-Dm1U

On the way to Joberg for Zone Conference a couple of weeks ago, we stopped in Pretoria to see the new statue of Nelson Mandela on the grounds of the Parliament.  It was rainy, but really worth seeing.

As you already know, Mom and I are going for our walks each morning.  It seems to make the day go better, and for sure we feel better.  A couple of days ago we decided to take a new route.  On the corner of every busy street, men looking for work gather.  They all sit around and talk.

Well, to make a long story short, Mom stepped on a stone; rolled her ankle and proceeded to do her famous tuck and roll.  Timing was not so hot.  She went down right in front of about 8 guys.  They watched with astonishment, and we heard a few “Oooh soddie Mum”.   She gathered herself up; we brushed of the dirt and surveyed the scrapes on her hands and knees and she limped off.  Her pride took a bit of a hit, but Mom is resilient.  Sorry, no pictures.  As you kids know, Mom has a pretty good history of going down.

While out on our walks, we took a few pictures of some of the security fences around our flat.  I could not help thinking about Caption Moroni and the great length he went to fortify their cities.  I have provided a few in the broad spectrum of security fencing that is available in the world in which we live.  As did Moroni, from time to time, each of us need to take inventory and make the necessary repairs to keep evil out of our lives and provide protections for our families.

KQJ8FiP74gHbSO_WLykAXu8QZBmiwK23hWyqqsMiyac JoursDpIzlg3f7Smn5I1JQ8gJZp4y15iKCWZgjmmHzw -zArxL-135XfV-8JXtDQDh-NN4X689riVP-6v5PgkAw Susow9sEyXRVL9lCBCFHhMONmhLCjMQUy8CkmlJjcVE km5PQ7DtbHpI-vQ-LhA5boFTSHH9-rERWuoSjpNaT_I,884NZEiogE2Zbv3HaEwH7OQ3oEhhHl3fPdqKrhJVgHk aP2K-dDI6cVvEANKhtARkAE2AWBcrcWRigbNinz2H4I,q2HYutOk2kwPlJ-Nei9NnCHD-FpqdlEAzKx9Z_nfgSM hdb68aQFNVz99BMm-t0x1IPW5QYuiDON-070M5C6VP0,r1kcGNh3ZIxxe5kYBeddRRGQEi9PCzrvcLLowgunrx8

Bet you can’t guess which one is Mom’s.

Oh, almost forgot. It was a big week to get all my taxes ready for the CPA.  As always, it was a joy.  However, this time, getting everything together from half way around the world was a little more challenging.  Mom just told me to say it was a little more “taxing” ha, ha.

Please know that we love you.  We love the Lord and know that He is our Savior. We see His influence in our lives each day and in the lives of those we serve.  We see His love and care for each of you.  You make us proud as you ‘lift where you stand.”

Love,

MOM & DAD

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Testimonies from past to present

  1. Susan Palmer says:

    You both are so amazing. I love sharing your missionary experiences with you vicariously. A mission is the greatest time in your lives. Enjoy each day and continue to make many great memories. I love the oneness that has come into our relationship since serving our mission. I look forward to reading your experiences each week.

Leave a Reply

